Blogger Recognition Award

Thank you so much Sharon for nominating me for the Blogger recognition award. It has taken me some time to do this post but here it is finally. I encourage you all to take a look at Sharon’s blog, ReDiscover at 40. It is filled with some very edifying posts about our Lord and Saviour. If you are wanting to get to know Jesus a little more, her blog is the one to see.

The rules for accepting this award:

  1. Link back to the blog of the person who nominated you
  2. Tell how your blog got started
  3. Give advice to new bloggers
  4. Nominate 15 bloggers and their blogs for the award

So why and how did I start my blog?

Well I had been wanting to write a blog for a long time but never really plucked up the courage to do so, I  was too lazy. But a couple of years back I decided to try. I originally started on another website called blog.com. But I soon realised that the network wasn’t so large, which meant my posts were almost being sent into a black hole never to be discovered. I soon came to learn about WordPress.com and fell in love! It’s really great to see other blogs and writing styles. There are so many successful blogs, which only encourage me to write more. And lets not forget blogging university that has so much useful information on how to improve your writing and blog as a whole.

The main reason for having a blog is simply because I love to write. But I became tired of just writing in my diary. I felt that I wanted to write publicly. I wanted other people to not only read my work but alow them to get to know me and have them give me feedback, be it good or bad. How else could I possibly improve my writing without the critique of others. And though I have not had much as of yet, I am sure in the future as my blog becomes more established that together with my readers I will be able to improve my blog and writing style.

Advice to fellow bloggers out there.

Firstly if you want your blog to really take off then you have to be serious about blogging. That means writing often, or if you are not going to write so often, inform your readers of when you will return. This will keep you readers tuned in to you blog, you don’t want them to forget about you. That’s a major mistake I made. When I first started this blog, I was writing often, and then I disappeared for a year, without so much as a goodbye. That allowed the readers that I was accumulating to forget about me, and thus I felt like I had to start again to get my followers to come back. And so here I am, with perhaps a couple of views a day (better than nothing). But I know that I am more serious about blogging now and hopefully will stay in contact with you all.

Another thing is to enjoy it! Seriously it tells in your writing if you are forcing yourself to write. If you get stuck on a post, take a walk, talk with friends and family, and read other bloggers posts. This way you are able to re-center yourself, clear you mind and rethink you post and topic. It helps me and perhaps it will help you.

And that leads me onto my next piece of advice. Visit other blogs. Follow other blogs. It helps to get you out there and opens your mind to new ideas. Also the chances are, if you have liked a post, followed a blog or commented on a piece of someone elses work, they are likely to visit you page, and maybe just maybe, they will like what they see!

Who do I nominate?

In no particular order

  1. Katarizo Heart
  2. Behind The Pages by Cheryllyn Dyess
  3. Dysfunctional Literacy
  4. Little April Showers by April
  5. Koko Boocro by Ria
  6. My Stuffed Little Therapy
  7. Jimi The Phoenix
  8. A Narcissist Writes Letters To Himself by Eric Wong
  9. Thoughts Of  A Trainwrecked Pineapple by Carlos Lewis
  10. Katzenworld by Multiple Writers
  11. Recipes For Sustenance
  12. The Scribbler’s Workbook by Ditrie Marie Bowie
  13. The Diligent Dilettante by Keigh Ahr
  14. The Introverts Dictionary by Charlotte Latvala
  15. Chester Maynes

I encourage yu all to have a look at the blogs above, they are all so different, yet equally interesting in their own right. You never know, you just might end up liking them, as did I.

Thanks for reading.

God bless

DD x

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

